halfway through my interviews!

February 10, 2011 § 4 Comments

The good thing about going to a coffee shop during a football match (that’s football according to the rest of the world’s definition, not the American verision), is that everyone is preoccupied with the game. And the bad thing about going to a coffee shop during a football match is that everyone is preoccupied with the game, servers included.

This morning, as I trudged back downtown from a morning of human rights conferences and 10 interviews, a beggar on the side of the path called out to me “ya binta! Narf babak u mamak! (Hey there, girl! I know your father and mother!)”. I found it a pretty strange ploy. I looked at his face set with crass, sunken eyes but couldn’t think of a polite way to say, “no, I seriously doubt that sir.” Then another layer of my isolation struck me. He couldn’t know my parents, no one here could. Perhaps one of the strangest pieces of my detachment. For the first time in my life, no body will approach me to ask about some fancy analytical English literature assignment, thinking I am Nicole.

I found a better Valentine’s Day option than wallowing in lethargy alone in my apartment eating way too much dark chocolate. I’m becoming a “yes (wo)man” and have decided to go on a road trip in Europe! Here’s the plan, or rather here’s the lack of a plan. I’m flying from Casablanca to Lyon on Saturday, couchsurfing in Lyon until noon on Sunday where my friend Louis will intercept me on his road trip from Germany back to Morocco. He has just bought a car in Germany and needs to get it eventually to his home in Cameroon. We’ll be hugging the coast and highways with names that sound like Battle Ship quadrants (the E15). We’ll probably stay in Marseille and Barcelona before making the final leg back, a ferry from Southern Spain into Morocco.

Camera is packed.

§ 4 Responses to halfway through my interviews!

  • Nicole says:

    Well, if it’s any consolation, Iban still calls me Hayley when I use your backpack, and Billy is never less than surprised when I tell him (again) that you’re in Morocco for the year.

    “Whoa, really? Cool. Heh. Heh. Okay, see you later Hayley.”

    “Nicole!”

  • Jillian says:

    Donne mes bisous au Sud de France pour moi. Il me manque tellement mais je suis tres heureuse que tu seras la quand meme.

    (Desolee, je suis parasseuse et je ne veux pas utiliser les accents.)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading halfway through my interviews! at Land Where the Sun Sets.

meta

