There will be blood

November 21, 2010 § 1 Comment

If innards make you queasy, feel free to skip this post. Otherwise, here is my Aid el-Kabir in a photo essay, mostly because I’m doing other write-ups.

This guy was promptly loaded onto the roof of our bus

grain mob

fearless

"bismillah" (In the name of Allah...)

Damage is done

As soon as he touched the slit where they had sliced the sheep's throat, the nerves made it kick around wildly

Yes, they are pumping it up with a bike pump. I don't know if I'll ever be able to get that sound out of my head and change my own bike tube again.

Soukaina in her work clothes/pajamas, getting the bbq ready to roast the head and feet

Father and sons

Moustapha and Fouid

The neighbor's yard when I went to borrow skewers

Meanwhile, back at home they were starting the same process

Ahmed

Right before he tossed it on the roof to dry off

Fouid and Rachid

intestines that went on for days

operation

Just hanging up to dry with the rest of the laundry

Who can tell me what organ this is?

About to get skewered and spiced

How strange for everyone in the country to kill and feast on the same creature on a national holiday. Anyway, Thanksgiving is coming up! I’m leaving for Spain again on Tuesday, but before I go I hope to upload a few more photos and possibly post some exerts from my travel journal.

§ One Response to There will be blood

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading There will be blood at Land Where the Sun Sets.

meta

