Your thoughts, please.

October 18, 2010 § Leave a comment

 

I finished This Blinding Absence of Light by Tahar Ben Jelloun, the first North African to win the Prix Goncourt. A terrific novel on prisoners in Tazmamart, Morocco’s top secret, literally underground dungeon for the politically outspoken and those involved in coup d’etat attempts. In the 70s, there was an attempted coup at a palace in Skhirat, just a 20 minute train ride from Rabat. For this, the late king placed the “political enemies” in a desert concentration camp where no light entered their cells. My book came full circle, as I finished it on the beach at Skhirat, which is today a popular strip of sand for European tourists. Photos from the Skhirat beach yesterday:

the twins

This is typical of most train stations, with the exception of the major cities

Lisa’s blond hair has an electromagnetic lure for unwanted attention. On our way to the train station, a carload of hormone-imbalanced boys, unable to resist 3 fair-skinned German girls, came to a halt beside our group. As they directed professions of love and the you are welll-come here‘s at us, something snapped. I would never have done this if I was alone, but with Lisa’s two little sisters to defend, I yelled phrases of shame to ward off the band of juveniles. Normally, I would have remembered to practice non-aggression and exercised self-control, but for a few glorious moments I was a badass mama bear defending her cubs from blueberry pickers, unstoppable and uncompromising.  Then the reality of my deficient derija vocabulary set in, and I could only repeat myself or give death-glares. They peeled out, though more to show off than for fear of my wrath.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Your thoughts, please. at Land Where the Sun Sets.

meta

